
 

Rule No.: 941-6601-03001                                            Agency: Mississippi Department of Transportation 
Agency Effective Date:  May 15, 2005                        Agency Issued Date:  March 8, 2005 
Secretary of State Authority Date:  May 15, 2005      Supercedes Rule: 
Division: Office of Enforcement 
Rule Title: Over-Dimensional Permits 

 
 
The person to be contacted regarding the proposed rule is: Facility and Records Management 
Director 
 
Name of person originating the proposed rule: Tommy Thames 
 
Name of supervisor or person who approved the proposed rule: Director Willie Huff 
 
Purpose:  
 
Define the authority for Mississippi Department of Transportation Office of Enforcement Permit Division to 
issue over dimensional permits. 
  
Summary:  
 
This rule cites the the statutory authority for the issuance of over dimensional permits and displays the 
over dimensional permitting rules as adopted by the Mississippi Transportation Commission. 
 
The full text of the proposed rule adopted by the Mississippi Transportation Commission is 
recorded in Minute Book 10 Page 1440 as amended: 
 
All cites herein refer to the most current version of the cited document. 
 
The Mississippi Transportation Commission's is authorized to establish rules by Section § 65-1-8 (2)(c), 
et. seq. of the Mississippi Code of 1972 Annotated as amended.  The Mississippi Department of 
Transportation Office of Enforcement Permit Division is authorized to issue over-dimensional permits by 
Transportation Commission Order.  All cites to the Mississippi Code for this rule may be accessed at 
www.state.ms.us. 
 
 

Continuous Movement Permit 
57 Foot Box Van Trailers 

 
 
The Mississippi Transportation Commission established a new blanket permit for 57 foot box van trailers.  
The blanket permit will allow carriers to move 57 foot box van trailer, otherwise legal, seven (7) days per 
week and 24 hour per day movement.  
 
 
The following rules and regulations are adopted with this procedure: 
 

1. In order to receive a 57 foot box van trailer blanket permit, each company must submit an 
application to the permit section with a list of highways to be traveled.  

 
2. A Certificate of insurance for $25,000 property damage and $250,000 liability must be on file with 

the Mississippi Department of Transportation Permit Office.  
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3. The fee for the 57 foot box van trailer blanket is $100.00 per year, per carrier. The blanket must 
be renewed each year by the carrier. A current Certificate of Insurance has to be on file with the 
Department of Transportation prior to renewal of all blanket permits.  

 
4. The carrier must pay all other fees required by law. 

 
5. The carrier will be issued a blanket permit with designated routes. If a copy of the permit is not 

produced by the driver upon request and/or the carrier is off the approved route then the move 
will be deemed not to have a permit and the carrier will be penalized accordingly. 

 
6. Mississippi Department of Transportation may exclude or designate certain portions of highways 

for the use of the permit on the initial blanket or at any time during the life of the blanket with 
advanced notification to the carrier. 

 
7. Any miss-statement or misrepresentation on the part of the carrier on the application or on any 

permit may result in the suspension or revocation of permit.  
  
 
The Department of Transportation reserves the right to require escorts with a height pole and/or 
additional escorts for safety measures as deemed advisable due to particular loads and/or routes.  
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
   

 
Continuous Movement/Self Issued Blanket Permits (CMSI) 

Rules and Regulations 
 

During the 1996 session the Mississippi Legislature enacted Senate Bill 2320 which established a new 
form of oversize/overweight blanket permit for vehicles and loads (non-divisible) which do not exceed 
95,000 pounds and are otherwise legal in terms of size.  The blanket permit will authorize carriers to 
move seven (7) days a week, twenty-four (24) hours a day.  It will also authorize carriers to issue their 
own permits without contacting the Mississippi Department of Transportation.  Since this office will not 
control routing after the blanket is issued, great care must be taken during the application process to 
insure that the Department has a firm understanding of the nature of these loads and how they are being 
moved.  Once an application has been approved a Continuous Movement/Self Issued (CMSI) blanket 
permits agreement between the carrier and Mississippi Department of Transportation will be signed and 
issued to the carrier. 
 
After issuance of the blanket permit, operational policies and procedures are as follows: 
 

1. The fee for the CMSI blanket is $500.00 per year per carrier. The blanket and the Insurance must 
be renewed each year by carrier. 

 
2. The carrier must pay all other fees required by law. 

 
3. The carrier will be issued a series of pre-numbered permit forms.  The carrier will complete the 

permit form prior to any move, fax the form to the Mississippi Department of Transportation 
Permit Office, and issue a copy of the permit to the driver of the vehicle.  If the permit is not faxed 
to the Permit office or if it is not produced by the driver upon request the move will deemed not to 
have a permit and will be penalized accordingly. 

 
4. Mississippi Department of Transportation Permit staff will review submitted permits and will bill 

the carrier account.  If any discrepancies are noted by the staff the carrier will be notified prior to 
billing. 

 
5. Mississippi Department of Transportation may exclude certain portions of highways for the use of 

the permit on the initial blanket or at any time during the life of the blanket with advance 
notification to the carrier. 

 
6. Any misstatement or misrepresentation on the part of the carrier on the application or on any 

permit, may result in the suspension or revocation of the CMSI blanket. 
 

7. A certificate of insurance in the amount of $25,000 property damage and $250,000 liability must 
be on file with the Miss Department of Transportation Permit Office.       
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 Approved:  July 8, 2003 
                                                                                                                            Effective:  July 8, 2003  
 

Blanket Permit Rules and Procedures 
 
A. An Oversize Blanket permit, an Overweight self issuance Blanket Permit, and/or Oversize/ 

Overweight self issuance Blanket Permit may be issued to any carrier to move non-divisible loads 
with a width no greater than 14 feet, otherwise legal upon approval of written application submitted by 
the carrier. 

 
B. The Mississippi Department of Transportation has developed a new Oversize Blanket Permit that was 

approved by the Transportation Commission on April 14, 1998.  The new blanket permit will be issued 
for non-divisible loads and/or vehicles over 14 ft. in width up to 16 ft. in width and 14 ft. in height, with 
legal weight.  There will be no charge for this blanket authority; however each permit will continue to 
cost $10.00.  Pre-numbered permit books will be purchased from the MDOT permit division.  Each 
book will contain 50 blank permits and will cost $500.00.   

 
a. The permittee will complete a permit form for each trip, place the original in the vehicle and 

leave the copy in the book. Completed books must be returned to the MDOT permit office.   
 

b. The customer must have a charge account set up with the Mississippi Department of 
Transportation and no outstanding warrants to purchase the Oversize Blanket permit.   

 
c. A copy of the oversize blanket and the permit must be carried in the vehicle at all times or the 

permit will be invalid.  Daylight movement only.  All movements to be on highways with a 
minimum pavement width of 20 ft.  One escort is required for all loads and/or vehicles that 
exceed 12 ft. in width (Front on 2 lane highways or the rear on 4 lane highways).  There will 
be certain sections of highway, which may not be used under this blanket.  These sections 
will be specified on the blanket permit.  Any vehicle and/or load in violation of the permitting 
rules or regulations, or apprehended on prohibited sections of highway will be fined $250.00 
and/or a 6-month permit suspension. 

 
C. The written application for overweight or overweight/oversize loads will include, but not be limited to: 
 

a. Company Name and Address 
b. Bill to Name and Address 
c. Insurance Company Name and Address 
d. MDOT Charge Account Number 
e. Load Description 
f. Gross Weight and Width (14ft.MAX. Width) 
g. Axle Weights and Axle Spacing 
h. Make or Model and Serial number or Tag number of equipment  
i. Drawing of the Vehicles and Loads 
j. List Preferred Standard Routes (If Any) 

 
 
D. Each carrier applicant must: 
 

a. Have a Certificate of Insurance on file at the Vehicle Permit Division with the Mississippi 
Department of Transportation named as the certificate holder. 

b. Have a MDOT charge account. 
c. Submit a credit card, check or money order made payable to the Department of 

Transportation in the amount of $100.00 for overweight only, $100.00 for oversize only and 
$200.00 for overweight/oversize with the application or written instruction to bill the carrier’s 
account. 

 
E. The applications will be reviewed by the Office of Enforcement and the MDOT Bridge Division and 

Roadway Design Division.  
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 Approved:  July 8, 2003 
                                                                                                                            Effective:  July 8, 2003  
F. Denied applications will be returned to applicants with reasons for denial. 

 
G. The written application for motor cranes and/or off-road self powered equipment for Blanket authority 

will be under the same guide lines as the overweight and overweight/oversize application. The 
following additional information must be submitted with application:  

      
a. A certified scale receipt from a MDOT permanent scale that indicates the dimension of each 

axles spacing, each axle weight, and the date and scale officers’ signature.  
b. A copy of the manufacturer’s data sheet of axle spacing and axle weight for the particular 

model vehicle. 
c. A written description of what equipment has been added to or removed from the vehicle.  

 
NOTE:  Cranes and off-road self powered equipment that are currently on blanket permits shall 
be re-weighed at each renewal. 

 
H. Approved applicants will be sent a blanket permit that will include: 
      

a. Specifications of the vehicles and loads 
b. Effective dates of the permit 

 
I. Overweight, Oversize/Overweight, motor cranes and off-road self powered equipment Blanket Permit 

holders will be issued a series of pre-numbered permit books. Prior to each move the permittee will 
complete the information on the permit form and fax it to the Vehicle Permit Office. The permittee will 
place a copy of the permit and the blanket permit in the cab of the vehicle.  If the Permit and the 
Blanket Permits are not on the vehicle it may be deemed not to be permitted and may be penalized 
accordingly. 

 
J. The permit form will include Origin, Destination, and Routes traveled. Upon receiving the permit 

information, the permit office will check the calculation of the fees and bill the carrier’s account. 
 
K. Any vehicle and load operating under such a permit and weighed by Enforcement Officers at a 

greater weight than specified on the blanket permit will be penalized from the permitted weight.  
 
L. All vehicles must remain on routes specified on permit or will be deemed not to have a permit 

penalized according to legal road weight.  
 
M. A Blanket Permit for oversize up to 14ft in width other wise legal for non-divisible loads may be 

obtained as follows: 
 

a. A written request is required either faxed to (601) 359-5928 or mailed to the             
Mississippi Department of Transportation, P. O. Box 1850, Jackson, MS, 39215. 

b. A certificate of insurance on file in the permit office with the Mississippi Department of 
Transportation named as the certificate holder. 

 
N. Vehicles and loads operating under an overweight, oversize, overweight/oversize, crane or off-road 

self powered blanket permit may travel Monday through Saturday from 30 minutes after sun-rise to 30 
minutes before sun-set unless otherwise specified on the blanket 

 
O. Escorts are required for all loads exceeding 12ft in width.  The Mississippi Department of 

Transportation reserves the right to require escorts with a height pole and or additional escorts for 
safety measures as deemed advisable due to particular loads and/or routes. 

 
P. Any misstatement or misrepresentation of any information on the blanket application or self issued 

permit may result in the revocation or suspension of all permit privileges. 
 
Q. Any load determined by Enforcement Officers not to be a non-divisible load will be deemed not to 

have a permit and will be penalized based on the road weight limit. 
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 Approved:  July 8, 2003 
                                                                                                                            Effective:  July 8, 2003  
 
R. Movement will not be allowed on Sunday, New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, 

Thanksgiving Day and Christmas, or after 12:00 noon on days preceding listed holidays. (Excluding 
57 foot box van trailers which will allow seven day twenty four hour movement otherwise legal) and 
(Sealed containers which will allow Seven day twenty four hour movement)? Transports of loads in 
excess of twelve (12) feet shall time movements to avoid the major urban areas of Jackson, 
Memphis/Southaven and the Gulf Coast (excluding I-10) from 7:00 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. to 
5:30 p.m. unless otherwise specified on the blanket. 
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 Approved:  July 8, 2003 
                                                                                                                            Effective:  July 8, 2003  

Blanket Permit Application for Oversize, Oversize/Overweight, CMSI, 
Over Weight Only, 57’ Box Van Trailer, 2-Piece Load, 16’ Wide Mobile Home 

 
 

Name: _________________________________ Date: ____/___/____  Phone# (___) ____________ 
 
Address:______________________________City/St: _________________________ Zip:_________ 
 
Bill To: ____________________________________ MDOT Charge Account #_________________ 
 
Credit Card # _____________________________________  Expiration Date: __________________ 
 
Truck make________________ Model #______________ Tag _________________ State________ 
 
Load Description: __________________________ Gross Weight ______________  Width ________ 
 
Height_____ Trailer Length_______ Overhang-front______ Overhang -rear______ Unit #_________ 
 
Axle weights and spacing must be supplied for all overweight loads along with diagram of load. 

All cranes, work over rigs, off road equipment must have a certified weight ticket attached. 
 
Axle weight:  Axle spacing:  Axle weight:  Axle spacing:  Axle weight:  Axle spacing: 
 
1._________   __________ 6.__________ __________   11.________  __________  
 
2._________  __________ 7.__________  __________ 12 _________  __________   
 
3._________ __________  8.__________  __________  13._________  __________ 
 
4._________  _________ 9.__________ __________  14._________  __________ 
  
5._________ __________ 10._________ __________   15._________  __________ 
 
Designated Highways for 57’ Box Van Trailers (please list highways below): 
 
 
 
All applying for blanket authority must have insurance on file with the Mississippi Department of 
Transportation permit office.  
 
All applying must have a charge account with the Mississippi Department of Transportation to receive the 
following blankets.   (CMSI, Oversize /Overweight, 2-piece load, 16’ mobile home or overweight only, 
Special Heavy Haul Blanket.) 
 
Signature ______________________________   Print Name ___________________________  
 
Title_____________________________________   Date: _____________________________________________ 

 
Mail to:  Mississippi Department of Transportation, Office of Enforcement, 
Permits Division 
 Post Office Box 1850, Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1850   
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 Approved:  July 8, 2003 
                                                                                                                            Effective:  July 8, 2003  

 
Oversize/Overweight Blanket Permit  
Operational Policies and Procedures 

 
A. The carrier must renew the blanket each year. 

B. The carrier must pay all fees required by law. 

C. The carrier will be issued a series of pre-numbered permit forms.  The carrier will complete the permit 
form prior to any move, fax the form to the Mississippi Department of Transportation Permit Office, 
and issue a copy of the permit to the driver of the vehicle.  A copy of the permit and the blanket must 
be in the vehicle at all times. If the permit is not faxed to the Permit Office and if the permit and the 
blanket are not produced by the driver upon request the move will be deemed not to have a permit 
and will be penalized accordingly. Additionally if the load does not conform to the specifications 
contained in the blanket authorization, the load will be deemed not to have a permit and will be 
penalized accordingly. 

D. Mississippi Department of Transportation Permit staff will review submitted permits and will bill the 
carriers account.  If staff notes any discrepancies the carrier will be notified prior to billing. 

E. Mississippi Department of Transportation may exclude certain portions of highways for the use of 
permit in the initial blanket or at any time during the life of the blanket with advance notification to the 
carrier. 

F. Any misstatement or misrepresentation on the part of the carrier on any part of the permit may result 
in the suspension or revocation of the Oversize/Overweight blanket. 

G. The carrier must observe all restrictions on the Oversize/Overweight blanket or will be deemed not to 
have a permit and penalized accordingly. 

H. The Oversize/Overweight blanket is for daylight movement only. No movement allowed on Sundays. 

I. Movement is allowed except on the following holidays: New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of 
July, Thanksgiving and Christmas or after 12:00 noon on the day proceeding the listed holidays. 

J. A certificate of insurance must be on file with the MDOT Permit Office. If the insurance expires or is 
canceled the blanket and the permits will be suspended.   

 
This is to certify that I have received and agree to follow the operational policies and procedures of the 
oversize/overweight blanket. 
 
Company Name _____________________________________   Title ___________________________  
 
Signature ________________________________   Date: _____________________________________ 
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 Approved:  July 8, 2003 
                                                                                                                            Effective:  July 8, 2003  

 
Rules for Permitting Two-Piece Loads 

 
A. Persons in the timber industry may obtain a blanket authorization for $200.00 per year or pro rated 

according to expiration date of insurance, which will enable them to write their own permits for the 
purpose of hauling two pieces of equipment used in the timber industry. The vehicle gross weight of 
which shall not exceed 100,000 pounds or 14 feet overall width. 

B. Permit applicants must submit a written application to the MDOT in a manner prescribed by the 
MDOT, and must open a charge account with the state. (Call Financial Management Div. (601)359-
7055)  

C. Upon approval of the blanket authorization, the carrier will be issued pre-numbered permits.  Each 
time the carrier makes a move pursuant to the blanket authorization, the carrier will complete a permit 
form, place a copy in the truck and fax a copy to the MDOT Permit Office.  On the permit form the 
carrier will include origin, destination and route to be traveled.  In routing the move the carrier will not 
use low-weight roads and will avoid low-posted bridges. 

D. The permit office will bill the carrier’s account upon receipt of the faxed permit, at the rate prescribed 
by statute, $.05 per thousand pounds of excess weight per mile traveled. 

E. The carrier, as a part of the application, must submit a certificate of insurance indicating that the 
carrier has coverage in the amount of $25,000 property damage and $250,000 liability. 

F. Any carrier that does not have a copy of the permit on the truck, failed to fax the permit to the MDOT 
Permit Office prior to the move, or whose gross vehicle weight exceeds 100,000 pounds will be 
deemed not to have a permit and will be penalized accordingly.  Additionally, violations of these rules 
will constitute grounds for suspension or revocation of this blanket permit. 

 
Under this permit authority no tandem axle may exceed 44,000 pounds and no tri-axle may exceed 
60,000 pounds 
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 Approved:  July 8, 2003 
                                                                                                                            Effective:  July 8, 2003  

 
Rules for Special Heavy Haul Blanket Permit 

 
General rules applying to all special heavy haul blanket permits for vehicles transporting heavy 
equipment.  
 
An enactment to authorize the Mississippi Department of Transportation to issue special permits for 
vehicles transporting heavy equipment with a non-divisible load having a gross vehicle weight of 140,000 
pounds or less: to provide that the permit shall be issued for the pulling unit and shall be nontransferable: 
to provide the fee for such permit; to amend sections 27-19-81 and 27-19-89, Mississippi Code of 1972, 
in conformity thereto; and for related purposes (Senate Bill 2676) which is available at www.state.ms.us. 
 
Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Mississippi  
 
Section 1.    

(1) In addition to other permits authorized to be issued for overweight loads, the Department of 
Transportation is authorized to issue special permits for vehicles transporting heavy equipment 
with a non-divisible load having a gross weight of one hundred forty thousand pounds (140,000 
lbs) or less.  The permit shall be issued for the pulling unit and shall be nontransferable.  The fee 
for such permit shall be Four Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($4,500.00) and the permit shall 
expire one (1) year from the beginning movement date.  Movement under such permit shall be 
under such safety and equipment restrictions as the department may establish.  The department 
shall specify the routes over which such movement may be conducted. 

 
(2)  This section shall stand repealed from and after July 1, 2006   

        
A. Special Heavy Haul only Blanket permits for a period of twelve (12) months may be issued to licensed 

dealers and transporters of heavy equipment with a non-divisible load having a gross vehicle weight 
of 140,000 lbs or less and otherwise legal.  

B. Special Heavy Haul only Blanket permit shall be issued for the pulling unit and shall be 
nontransferable. The fee for such permit shall be Four Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($4,500.00) 
and the permit shall expire one (1) year from the beginning movement date.  Movements under such 
permit shall be made under such safety and equipment restrictions as the department may establish.  
The Department shall specify the routes over which such movements may be conducted.  

C. The customer must not have any outstanding warrants to purchase the Special Heavy Haul Blanket 
permit. 

D. All vehicles permitted for movement of overweight loads under the Special Heavy Haul Blanket are 
for daylight move only Monday through Saturday with normal travel restrictions. All movements to be 
on highways with a minimum pavement width of 20 feet. There will be certain sections of highway, 
which may not be used under this blanket. These sections will be specified on the Special Heavy 
Haul Blanket. 

 
Note: Movement prohibited on all posted bridges. Posted bridge map located at 

http://www.GoMDOT.com. 
 
E. Any vehicle and/or load in violation of the permitting rules or regulations, or caught on prohibited 

sections of highway will be fined and/or a 6-month permit suspension. 

F. Such movement will be made using all necessary safety precautions and additional specified safety 
precautions shall be employed as follows: 

a. Transporters shall time movements to avoid the major urban areas of Jackson, 
Memphis/Southaven and the Gulf Coast (excluding I-10) from 7:00 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 
p.m. to 5:30 p.m. 
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 Approved:  July 8, 2003 
                                                                                                                            Effective:  July 8, 2003  

Movements will not be allowed on Sundays, New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, 
Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas, or after 12:00 noon on days proceeding the listed 
holidays. 

 
b. Such movements shall not be made during times of heavy rain, snow, during other hazardous 

weather conditions, or any time when the ground speed of the wind exceeds 25 miles per hour. 
 
G. Each Special Heavy Haul Blanket permit issued must be in the vehicle to which it refers at all times 

during the move. 

H. Failure of any dealer or transporter to comply with the terms of the Special Heavy Haul Blanket permit 
may be cause for cancellation of all permits issued to the failing dealer and/or transporter. All other 
regulations and any additional restrictions or regulations as may be placed in the permit shall be 
observed. 

I. All those applying for or receiving the Special Heavy Haul Blanket permits shall file with the 
Mississippi Department of Transportation a certificate of insurance in the amount of $25,000 property 
damage and applicants will also file a certificate of insurance confirming a motor vehicle liability policy 
in an amount of at least $250,000.as security for any damage to the highways and would have to be 
good for at least one (1) year in order to receive the Special Heavy Haul Blanket.  

 
This Permit has to be issued for one (1) year and is not prorated.  

 
Exceptions may be made for federal and state agencies, counties and municipalities moving their 
own equipment with their own vehicles, or when, in the opinion of the Department of               
Transportation, a non-recurring single movement is not of a nature likely to cause damage to the 
highways. 

 
It is noted that Section 63-5-53, Mississippi Code of 1972, places damage liability upon the permit 
holder. 
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
   
 

Maximum Axle Weights and Minimum Spacing 
For Hauling Heavy Equipment Only 

 
  
Five Axles  
 
Steering  Spacing Tandem Spacing Tandem  (80,000 lbs to 95,000 lbs) 
 
14,000 lbs 12’ 40,500 lbs 28’ 40,500 lbs 
 
Six Axles 
 
Steering  Tandem  Tri-axle (80,000 lbs to 120,000 lbs) 
 
14,000 lbs 12’  42,000 lbs 28’ 64,000 lbs 
 
Seven Axles 
 
Steering   Tandem  Quad (80,000 lbs to 140,000 lbs)  
 
14,000 lbs 12’ 54,000 lbs 28’ 72,000 lbs 
 
Steering   Tri-axle  Tri-axle 
 
14,000 lbs 12’ 63,000 lbs 28’ 63,000 lbs 
 
Steering  Tandem  Tandem  Spacing Tandem 
 
14,000 lbs 12’ 42,000 lbs 20’ 42,000 lbs 20’ 42,000 lbs 
 
 
 
Please sign acknowledgement of maximum axle’s weights per configuration.  The weights listed are 
for loads being hauled only 
 
 
Signature: ____________________________________________  Date:  _________________ 
 
Title: ________________________________________________  
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
   

Special Heavy Haul Blanket Permit 
 Operational Policies and Procedures for  

Hauling Equipment Only  
 
A. The carrier/owner must renew the Special Heavy Haul Blanket each year per each pulling unit at 

$4,500.00 and is nontransferable. 

B. The carrier/owner must be current with all applicable taxes and have valid vehicle registration. 

C. In order for the Special Heavy Haul Blanket to be valid, it must be present in the vehicle at all times 
and the load must meet all specification outlined in the permit or the load will be deemed not to have 
a permit and will be penalized accordingly. 

D. Mississippi Department of Transportation Permit staff will review and approve the applications and 
upon approval will bill the carriers/owner accordingly.  If staff notes any discrepancies, we will notify 
the carrier/owner. 

E. Mississippi Department of Transportation may exclude certain portions of highways for the use of 
permit in the initial Special Heavy Haul Blanket or at any time during the life of the Special Heavy 
Haul Blanket with advance notification to the carrier. 

F. Any misstatement or misrepresentation on the part of the carrier/owner may result in the suspension 
or revocation of the Special Heavy haul Blanket. 

G. The Special Heavy Haul Blanket is for daylight (30 minutes after sun up until 30 minutes before 
sunset) movement only.  No movement allowed on Sundays or the following holidays: New Year’s 
Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Thanksgiving and Christmas or after 12:00 noon on the day 
preceding the listed holidays. 

H. A certificate of insurance must be on file with the MDOT Permit Office. If the insurance expires or 
cancels, the Special Heavy Haul Blanket cancels.  

 
A fee of $100.00 is required for widths up to 14’ wide. 
 
Please check one of the following:  Yes, add width _____ or No, do not add width _____ 
 
 
This is to certify that I have received and agree to follow the operational policies and procedures of the 
Special Heavy Haul Blanket. 
 
 
Company Name _____________________________________   Title ___________________________  
 
Signature ________________________________   Date: ____________________________________ 
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
   

Special Heavy Haul Blanket Permit Application 
 
 
Company Name: ___________________________________   Date:  _______/_____/________ 
 
Address: _____________________________________ City ____________________St.______ 
 
Zip ___________ Phone # (_____)___________________ Fax #(_____)___________________ 
 
MDOT Charge Account # ________________________________________________________  
 
Credit Card # _________________________________ Expiration Date: ___________________ 
 
Load Description: __________________________________________________________________    
 
Truck Make: _______________________  Year:  ____________    Tag #___________________ 
 
Total # of Pulling Unit Axles _____________________________   State ___________________ 
 
VIN # ________________________________________________________________________  
 
 
The Maximum Axle Weights and Minimum Spacing are as listed on the following page. 
 
The Special Heavy Haul Blanket permit is $4,500.00 per pulling unit and is non-transferable. 
 
If paying by check or money order please mail with application 
 
 
 
Signature: _____________________________________   Date:  ______/______/________ 
 
Title: _________________________________________  
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 Maximum Axle Weights and Minimum Spacing 
 

 
  
Five Axles  
 
Steering  Spacing Tandem Spacing Tandem  (80,000 lbs to 95,000 lbs) 
 
14,000 lbs 12’ 40,500 lbs 28’ 40,500 lbs 
 
Six Axles 
 
Steering  Tandem  Tri-axle (80,000 lbs to 120,000 lbs) 
 
14,000 lbs 12’  42,000 lbs 28’ 64,000 lbs 
 
Seven Axles 
 
Steering   Tandem  Quad (80,000 lbs to 140,000 lbs)  
 
14,000 lbs 12’ 54,000 lbs 28’ 72,000 lbs 
 
Steering   Tri-axle  Tri-axle 
 
14,000 lbs 12’ 63,000 lbs 28’ 63,000 lbs 
 
Steering  Tandem  Tandem  Spacing Tandem 
 
14,000 lbs 12’ 42,000 lbs 20’ 42,000 lbs 20’ 42,000 lbs 
 
 
 
Please sign acknowledgement of maximum axle’s weights per configuration.   
 
 
 
Signature: ____________________________________________ Date:  _________________ 
 
Title: ________________________________________________  
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
   

“Super Load” Rules and Regulations 
 
The following rules and regulations shall govern the application for and the issuance of “Super Load” 
permits. Failure to comply with the rules and regulations will result in delays or disapproval of a permit 
application. 
 
“Super Load” is any vehicle (towing vehicle and load) that exceeds one or more of the following limits: 
 

 Overall Width:  20 feet 
 Overall Length: 120 feet 
 Overall Height: 17 feet 
 Gross Weight: 190,000 pounds 

 
House moves are exempt from this category since the Department has a specific policy and procedures 
for the moving of such structures. House movers must contact the permit section of the Department for 
additional information. 
 
In order to request a “Super Load” permit, the applicant must submit in writing, to the permit section, the 
following information: 
 
A. Cover letter: The following list of requirements applies to the applicant, and must be addressed in the 

cover letter.  In the letter, detail is the key word. Please note that all the information listed below must 
be contained in your letter. 

 
a. A request for permission to move on Mississippi’s highway system. 
b. The name and address of the applicant and shipper. 
c. The origin and ultimate destination of the load. 
d. The weight of the tractor, trailer, the load, and total of both.  
e. Steps taken to lessen the load. 
f. The dimensions of the tractor, trailer, and load. 
g. The most direct route if bypassing low bridge structures, poor road conditions, detours, etc. 
h. Steps taken to reduce interference with other traffic. 
i. Written certification that adjacent state will allow entrance of load. 

 
B. Drawings of commodity: The drawings are to be of the tractor, trailer, and load and are as follows: 
 

a. The load, including the towing vehicle. 
b. The axle spacing, number of axles, weight on each axle, tire size, and number of tires.  
c. The width of the tractor, trailer, and the load. 
d. The height of the load. (In the event that the height of the load is 17 feet or more, a written 

statement from all utilities and railroad companies affected must be included with the application.) 
e. The length of the tractor, trailer, and the load. (If the length of the tractor, trailer, and the load 

combined is 120 feet are longer, a written statement from all rail road companies affected must 
be included with the application.)  

 
C. A route survey will be required and your survey must include the following: 
 

a. Route (s) surveyed. 
b. Obstructions on the route (s) or shoulders that will affect the move. 

1) Highway signs (roadside and overhead) 
2) Bridge rails. 
3) Overhead traffic signals. 
4) Overhead power lines. 
5) Rail road crossing. 
6) Other. 

c. Pull-off spots, i.e., to allow traffic to pass. 
d. Parking lots. 
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e. Truck stops. 
f. Other locations with the capacity to allow the tractor, trailer, and load too completely clear the 

road. 
 

D.  Detailed list of all points where the load and/or vehicle will encroach into opposing traffic. 
 

a. Detailed traffic control explanation. 
1) If traffic needs to be stopped, explain how you are going to conduct traffic control, such as: 
2) How will traffic be stopped? 
3) Where are you stopping traffic? 
4) By what means is traffic going to be stopped, i.e. signs, flagmen, police escort, etc.? 
5) How will traffic be forewarned of impending stops, etc.? 

b. If your vehicle will encroach into the opposing lane, please detail the following information:  
1) How much of the lane will be encroached? 
2) How far are you traveling in this manner? 
3) How long will the encroachment last? 

 
The permit section will review the information submitted by the applicant and will request comments 
and/or recommendations from some or all of the following: 
 

 Transportation Commission 
 State Maintenance Engineer 
 Bridge Division 
 Traffic Engineering Division 
 District Engineers 

 
Taking into consideration the information submitted by the applicant and the responses from the 
appropriate Department personnel, the permit section will advise the applicant of the status of their 
request. The status report will specifically address any additional information required by the applicant, if 
applicable, or why the request was denied. The applicant may submit a revised plan addressing specific 
items if the previous submittal was denied. 
 

General Notes 
 
A. When considered necessary for the protection of the public or the highway, permits may specify 

speed limits, law enforcement escort (s) or other safety precautions such as:  
 

a. Front and rear escort 
b. Warning flags will be displayed on all corners at a height of six (6) feet above the pavement on 

moves in excess of ten (10) feet, not exceeding twelve (12) feet in width. 
c. Two (2) five (5) inch flashing amber lights sufficient for five hundred (500) feet visibility will be 

mounted approximately six (6) feet above the pavement on the rear corners of loads in excess of 
twelve (12) feet in width. 

d. Towing vehicles, escorts and trailers shall operate all legally required running lights, including 
headlights, if the load exceeds ten (10) feet in width. 

e. Daylight movements only, no holiday movement.  
f. Over width loads shall not be moved during times of rain, snow, sleet or during other hazardous 

weather conditions. 
 
B. It is noted that section 63-5-53, Mississippi code of 1972, places damage liability upon the permit 

holder. 
 
C. All those applying for or receiving permits shall file with the Department of Transportation Permit 

Division a certificate of insurance in the amount specified by the department as security for any 
damage to the highway system. Exceptions may be made for federal and state agencies, counties 
and municipalities moving their own equipment with their own vehicle. 
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D. Traffic control devices (signs, signals, etc.) removed just prior to the load passing their location shall 

be re-erected immediately after the load passes the location of the traffic control device. Re-erecting 
a sign and sign post requires the applicant to drive the sign post (s) immediately adjacent to its 
previous location and attaching the sign (s). 

 
E. The applicant is responsible for additional permits, notifications or clearances as may be required by 

other jurisdictional agencies or regulations.  
 
F. Failure of an applicant to comply with the terms of the permit, these regulations or the Department’s 

rules and regulations may be cause for cancellation of all permits issued and a suspension period for 
obtaining additional permits as determined by the Executive Director of the Department of 
Transportation. The mover may appeal penalties to the Executive Director and/or the Transportation 
Commission. 
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Sealed Container Rules 

Sealed containerized cargo units will be considered as non-divisible loads and overweight trip permits will 
be issued to operate vehicles hauling such units on the state highway system, subject to the following 
restrictions: 
 
A. Such containerized cargo units must be part of international trade and be moved on the highways due 

to importation from, or exportation to, another country.  
 
B. A copy of the international bill of lading signed by a custom’s official; or an international bill of lading 

with an equipment interchange and inspection report must be submitted to the MDOT permit section 
before a permit will be issued.  

 
C. The operators of such units shall at all times have in their possession a copy of the documents as 

described in item “B” above.  
 
D. For conditions shown in item “F”, outer bridge and inter bridge is defined as follows: 
 
 

 
         
E. All vehicles operating under a sealed containerized cargo permit shall have a minimum of five (5) full 

time load bearing axles and meet the following requirements for designated maximum gross vehicle 
weights as shown in Item “F”.     

 
F. Maximum gross vehicle weight with maximum tandem axle weight of 42, 000 lbs. 
 
Length: Outer bridge Inter bridge Gross Vehicle Weight 
 Min. (ft.) Min. (ft). Max (lbs.) 
 51 39 95,000 
 49 37 94,500 
 47 35 92,000  
 45 33 90,000 
 43 31 85,500   
 41 29 79,500 
 39 27 74,400 
 37 25 70,800 

 35 23 68,200  
 33 21 65,700 
 31 19 63,000 
 29 17 59,900 
 27 15 57,900 
 25 13 56,600 
       
Above loads may cross bridges posted at or above one or combinations of the following postings. 
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TANDEM 
40,000 LBS 

 

 
 

 
 

 
        
G. Sealed containerized loads are not permitted to cross “low” posted bridges shown in red on the 

Mississippi Department of Transportation LOW POSTED BRIDGES map.  Posted bridges are subject 
to change and this map will be updated periodically to reflect changes.  However, sealed 
containerized loads are not to cross any bridges that may be “low” posted prior to publication and 
issuance.  This map is issued as part of this policy and will be supplied with the initial request for a 
sealed containerized permit, with additional maps furnished upon request and re-issued upon being 
updated.   

 
H. All vehicles permitted for movement of overweight sealed containerized units are authorized 24 hours 

continuous movements Monday through Sunday with normal travel conditions. 
 
 
The Department of Transportation reserves the right to require escorts with a height pole and/or 
additional escorts for safety measures as deemed advisable due to particular loads and/or routes.   
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The Mississippi Department of Transportation Commission approved the attached policy pertaining to the 
movement of sealed containerized cargo units at their January 25, 1994 meeting.  The Mississippi 
Department of Transportation will immediately comply with the conditions of the policy in the issuance of 
trip permits for such loads. 
 
A. There are several conditions that we wish to reiterate or bring to your attention. 

 
B. The Permit Section WILL NOT issue a trip permits until the appropriate documents have been 

received by the Permit Section. 
 

C. Permitted loads must travel ONLY the routes authorized by the Permit Section.  The permit is void if 
the permitted vehicle travels on an unauthorized route. 
 

D. Item F of the policy indicates the maximum Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) for various outer-bridge and 
inter-bridge combinations.  The Department will strictly adhere to these weight/length limitations. 
 

E. The Mississippi Department of Transportation Permit Division will compute the permit fee for each 
one thousand (1,000) pounds, or fractional part thereof, of gross weight above the licensed capacity 
of the vehicle, up to the maximum GVW allowed by this policy.  (Example:  94,500 lbs. GVW permit 
fee will be computed as 95,000 lbs., but the permitted load CAN NOT exceeds 95,000 lbs.   
 

F. Permitted loads shall use high weight routes (80,000 lbs.) and not cross a Low Posted Bridge.  
 
 
The Department of Transportation recommends that you thoroughly familiarize yourself with the policy in 
question and the routes that can be utilized. 
 
If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact Tommy Thames or Girtha Richard of the 
MDOT Permit Division for clarification at 601-359-1589. 
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Sealed Container Application 

 
 

Company Name: ___________________________________   Date:  _______/_____/________ 
 
Phone # (_____)__________________________  Fax # (_____)__________________________ 
 
Tractor Make: ______________________________________  Tag #______________________ 
 
No. of Axles _____________________________   Container #  __________________________ 
 
Load Description: _______________________________________________________________    
 

 
Individual Axle Weights  

 
 Axle 1 Axle 2 Axle 3 Axle 4 Axle 5 Axle 6 
  
 ________ ________ ________ ________ ________ ________ 
 

 
Spacing Each Axle 

 
 1st Axle 2nd Axle 3rd Axle 4th Axle 5th Axle 
 
 ________ ________ ________ ________ ________ 
 
 
 
Origin ______________________________  Destination______________________________ 
 
Routing  _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Outer-Bridge __________________________  Inner-Bridge  ___________________________ 
 
Begin Date  ___________________________ 
 

 Appendix V – Page 4 of 9 



MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 Approved: July 8, 2003 
 Effective: July 8, 2003  

Rules and Regulations for Moving  
Earth Moving Equipment  

(Tractor with Dirt Pan in Tow) 
 

 
A. General rules applying to movement of all earth moving equipment  
 

a. Must have a 72-hour permit, since it has no tag.  
b. Must have a permit for oversize. 
c. Must have Insurance on file with the MDOT Permit Division.  
d. May move in convoy of no more than three (3) units with escorts front and rear of convoy. 
e. The Escort will have flashing amber lights and radio contact with each unit. 
f. “Wide load” signs must be placed on all units and escorts. 
g. The MDOT Permit Division must route each load.  (We will use four lanes as much as 

possible.) 
h. Convoys will pull off the highway at sufficient intervals, where possible, to allow traffic to 

pass.  
i. Daylight movement only. 
j. Payment Methods 

1) You can establish a charge account with the state of Mississippi.  
2) You can charge to credit card.  
3) You can order through one of the wire services.  

 
The Department of Transportation reserves the right to require escorts with a height pole and/or 
additional escorts for safety measures as deemed advisable due to particular loads and/or routes. 
  
To set up a charge account with the state of Mississippi please contact Charles Riddell at (601) 
359-7400. 
 
If you have any questions concerning the rules and regulations please contact Tommy Thames at 
(601) 359-1589. 
  
 

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI 
 

Rules and Definitions for Over-Dimensional Permits 
 
         Effective: July 8, 2003 
DEFINITIONS 
 
Permit - Written permission to transport a vehicle or load exceeding the statutory size or weight 

limits. 
 
Single Trip Permit - A permit authorizing the movement of specific vehicle or load for a period 

not to exceed three (3) consecutive days. 
 
Continuous Movement Permit - A permit authorizing the continuous movement of vehicle or 

loads for a period not to exceed twelve (12) consecutive months. 
 
Red Flags - A red flag eighteen (18) inches square. 
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Trailer - A vehicle without motive designed for carrying persons or property and for being drawn 

by a motor vehicle and so constructed that no part of its weight rest upon another vehicle. 
 
Semi-Trailer - A vehicle without motive designed for carrying persons or property and for being 

drawn by a motor vehicle and so constructed that some part of its weight and/or rests upon or 
is carried by another vehicle. 

 
57 Foot Box Van Trailer – A Vehicle without motive designed for carrying property and for being 

drawn by a motor vehicle and so constructed that some part of its weight  rest upon or is 
carried by another vehicle. 

 
Load - The item to be transported, including items placed on or in a vehicle, towed by a vehicle 

itself.  A load will generally be a one piece item which cannot readily be dismembered. 
 
Escort Vehicle - A single motor vehicle equipped with a flashing or revolving  amber light and 

two red flags mounted on the of the vehicle and an oversize load sign mounted on top of the 
vehicle and an oversize load sign mounted on the front for the lead escort  and rear for 
following escort.  Escort vehicle that alternates from lead to following shall have oversize 
signs front and rear. 

 
Oversize Load Sign - A sign, eighty-four (84) inches by eighteen (18) inches, with wording  

“OVERSIZE LOAD” in black letters ten (10) inches high with one and five-eight (1⅝) inches 
brush stroke on yellow or orange background are required on all loads in excess of twelve 
(12) feet. 

 
Motor Vehicle - A vehicle which is self-propelled except devices moved by human power or 

designed to operate upon rails or tracks. 
 
Inclement Weather - Anytime when there is not sufficient light to render clearly discernible 

persons or vehicle upon the highway at a distance of five hundred (500) feet or when 
pavement conditions, winds or other weather conditions constitutes hazardous travel. 

 
Daylight Hours - The period beginning one-half (½) hour after sunrise and ending one-half (½) 

hour before sunset. 
 
Height - The total vertical dimensions of a vehicle above the ground surface including any load 

and load-holding device thereon. 
 
Length - The total longitudinal dimension of a vehicle or combination or vehicle including any 

load or load-holding device thereon. 
 
Width - The total transverse dimension of a vehicle including any load or load-holding devices 

thereon. 
 
Gross Weight - The total weight of vehicle or combination of vehicles including all loads thereon. 
 
All oversize or overweight permits shall be authorized or issued by the Executive Director, Chief 
Engineer, Director, Office of Enforcement or Permit Division of the Central Office.  Upon such 
authorization, permits for which fees are due will be issued by the Department of Transportation 
Permit Division.  
 
Permit Regulations 
 
A. All those applying for or receiving permits shall file with the department a Certificate of 

Insurance in the amount of $25,000 property damage and $ 250,000 liability as security for 
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any damage to the highway. Exceptions may be made for federal and state agencies, 
counties and municipalities moving their own vehicle or when in the opinion of the 
Department a non-recurring single movement is not of a nature likely to cause damage to the 
highway. It is noted that SECTION 63-5-53, Mississippi Code of 1972, places damage liability 
upon the permit holder. 
 

B. Permits are generally intended for one piece items.  However, it is recognized that there are 
manufactured products which, when placed side by side, do not appreciable surpass the 
statutory width; e.g., concrete pipe, shipping pallets, Denial of permits to these products 
would cause economic hardship and not significantly affect traffic. Accordingly, permits may 
be issued for movement of such products up to a maximum width of ten and one-half (10-1/2) 
feet. 
 

C. Escorts and/or flashing amber lights required when moving an over-dimensional load. 
 
a. Overhang fifteen (15) feet or greater will require a front and/or rear escort depending on 

the location of the overhang(s) and a permit. 
b. Vehicles not exceeding a total length of ninety-nine (99) feet, with a one piece load not 

butted end to end with another piece will only require the load to be flagged and daylight 
hours only provided the trailer length does not exceed 53 ft. or a permit will be required. 

c. Vehicles with a total length exceeding ninety-nine (99) feet must obtain an oversize 
permit, and will be required to have at least one escort.  Escorts may be increased to 
front and rear according to routes and or loads. 

d. All trailers exceeding fifty three (53) feet in length will require an oversize permit.  Such 
permits for over-length must be obtained through the Permit Office. 

e. All movement of loads in excess of then (10) feet, not exceeding twelve (12) feet in width, 
will require, as a minimum, the use of red flags mounted on all corners of the load. 

f. All movement of loads in excess of twelve (12) feet, not exceeding sixteen (16) feet in 
width, on two (2) lane roadways (one lane per direction of travel) will require, as a 
minimum, the use of a front escort and flashing amber lights mounted on the rear of the 
load.  Vehicles with a total length exceeding ninety-nine (99) feet must obtain an oversize 
permit, and will be required to have at least one escort.  Escorts may be increased to 
front and rear according to routes and or loads. 

g. All movement of loads in excess of twelve (12) feet, not exceeding sixteen (16) feet in 
width, on divided highways (two or more through lanes per direction of travel) will require, 
as a minimum, the use of a rear escort and flashing amber lights mounted on the rear of 
the load.  Vehicles with a total length exceeding ninety-nine (99) feet must obtain an 
oversize permit, and will be required to have at least one escort.  Escorts may be 
increased to front and rear according to routes and or loads. 

h. When required, two (2) five (5) inch flashing amber lights sufficient for five hundred (500) 
feet visibility must be on the rear corners of the manufactured home mounted at 
approximately six (6) feet above the road surface.  Control of the lighting system will be 
from inside the towing vehicle with a device to alert the driver in the event of a 
malfunction. 

 
The Department of Transportation reserves the right to require additional escorts or safety 
measures as deemed advisable due to particular loads and/or routes. 
 
D. Red flags will be displayed on all corners at a height of approximately six (6) feet above the 

pavement on moves in excess of ten (10) feet, not exceeding twelve (12) feet in width.  All 
loads in excess of twelve (12) feet in width will display the red flags on the front corners of the 
load and flashing amber lights will be mounted on the rear corners. 
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E. Movement of over length or over width loads shall be made only during daylight hours and 

shall be discontinued during periods of inclement weather. 
 
F. Towing vehicles, escorts and trailers shall operate all legally required running lights, including 

headlights, if the load exceeds ten (10) feet in width. 
 
G. Movement will not be allowed on Sunday, New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, 

Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas, or after 12:00 noon on days preceding the 
listed holidays. (Excluding 57 foot box van trailers which will allow seven day twenty four hour 
movement otherwise legal) and (Sealed containers which will allow seven day twenty four 
hour movement). Transports of loads in excess of twelve (12) feet shall time movements to 
avoid the major urban areas of Jackson, Memphis/Southaven and the Gulf Coast (excluding 
I-10) from 7:00 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.  

 
H. When considered necessary for the protection of the public or the highway, permits may 

specify speed limits, police escorts or other safety precautions. 
 
I. Continuous movement blanket permits may be issued for: 

a. 57 foot box van trailers  (See Appendix I) 
b. CMSI (loads cannot exceed 95.000lbs.)  (See Appendix II) 
  

J. Blanket Permit Authority may be issued for size only with the following: (See Appendix III, 
Page 1) 
a. Maximum width loads of fourteen (14) feet not to exceed ninety nine (99) feet in length or 

fourteen (14) feet eleven (11) inches rear overhangs.  
 

K. Blanket Permit Authority maybe issued to write your own permit for oversize, oversize/ 
overweight or overweight only with the following:  (See Appendix III, Pages 1,2,3,6) 

 
a. Over size/over weight loads up to fourteen wide and weight that is determined by the 

number of axles and spacing upon being approved by the bridge division. 
b. 2 piece load blanket for logging equipment maximum weight 100,000 lb with a maximum 

tandem weight or 44,000 lb and a maximum tri axle weight of 60,000 lb. 
c. Manufactured homes over fourteen(14) feet in width up to sixteen (16) feet in width, 

maximum length manufacture homes and modular homes are one hundred and twenty 
(120) feet, maximum height is fourteen (14) feet. 

 
L. Blanket Permit Authority maybe issued with pre-determined axle weights and spacing and 

being truck specific.  
 
M. Special Heavy Haul blanket for hauling equipment only.  (See Appendix III, Pages 7, 8, 9, 10, 

11, 12) 
 
N. Single trip permits are good for three days only and may be issued for: 

a. Sealed Containers qualifying for continuous movement permits. (See Appendix V, Pages 
1, 2, 3, 4) 

b. Oversize loads as controlled by route availability and pavement width. 
c. Over height loads as controlled by route clearance. 
d. Overweight loads as controlled by pavement and bridge limits. 
e. Manufactured homes and modular homes one hundred and twenty (120) feet in length 

and maximum width is sixteen (16) feet. 
f. Multi-piece loads maximum ten and one-half (10 ½) feet wide butted end to end. 
g. Trailers that exceed fifty three (53) feet in length. 
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h. Super loads for widths over 20’, length over 120’, heights over 17’ and gross weights of 
190,000 lbs. and over. (See Appendix IV, Pages 1, 2, 3) 

i. Earth Moving Equipment. (See Appendix VI)  
 
O. Write your own permit blanket authority for oversize/overweight.  All permits are good for 

three (3) consecutive work days only, Monday thru Saturday no movement on Sunday, 
holidays listed in section 7 of these permit rules and all other restrictions apply. 

 
P. There are certain very large items; e.g., houses, products components that must be 

manufactured to specified sizes that require infrequent transport.  Single trip permits may be 
issued for such moves with due consideration of the type of highway, vertical and horizontal 
clearance, traffic count, hindrance to traffic, availability of detours or pull offs and overall 
feasibility and necessity of the move.  All house moves are issued by the Districts. 

 
Q. Requests for permits not covered by these regulations shall be submitted in writing to the 

Mississippi Department of Transportation Permit Division. 
 
R. In the event of sudden disasters or emergencies threatening the health and welfare of the 

public, the Executive Director or designee is vested with full and complete authority to issue 
permits, trip or continuous, for the purpose of providing necessary relief from such 
occurrences. 
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