
 
Harvest Permits 

 
 
 

1. Harvest Permits may be issued to owners/operators of vehicles used for hauling 
specific materials 

a. Sand 
b. Gravel 
c. Fill dirt 
d. Agricultural products 

i. Products produced on the farm 
ii. Farm products being transported from the farm to market or 

processing points 
iii. Cotton seed regardless of origin is considered an agricultural 

product 
e. Unprocessed forestry products 

i. Forestry products being hauled directly from the forest 
ii. Products being hauled from a “holding yard” will be treated as 

directly from the forest 
 
2. Loads authorized for Harvest Permits must NOT exceed 84,000 pounds 

 
3. Harvest Permits are not valid on Interstate Highways 

a. Vehicles in excess of 80,000 pounds will be penalized 
i. $0.05 per pound for every pound over 80,000 

ii. $0.15 per pound for every pound over 100,000 
b. Harvest Permits are not valid on low-weight roads 
c. Harvest Permits may be used for vehicles restricted from hauling 

maximum loads due to axle number or spacing 
d. Harvest Permits apply to covered products at 4,000 above the authorized 

gross weight limit 
i. Loads in excess of 4,000 pounds will be penalized 

1. $0.05 per pound for every pound over 4,000 
2. $0.15 for every pound over 16,000 

 
4. Complete application found at the end of this section or on the website at 

www.Gomdot.com  
 
5. Submit $25.00 application fee with the application 

a. Check made out to Mississippi Department of Transportation 
b. Money Order made payable to the Mississippi Department of Transportation 

 
6. Mail all information to:    Mississippi Department of Transportation 
     Permit Division - Harvest Permit Applications 
     PO Box 1850 
     Jackson, MS 39215 – 1850 

http://www.gomdot.com/


  
7. Approval of all applications will be determined by MDOT 
 
8. Applications not approved will be returned to applicant for correction and re-

submission 
 

9. Harvest Permits will NOT be issued to owners under the following conditions 
a. Owners with outstanding vehicle fees or penalties  
b. Owners with fees or penalties under appeal 
c. Owners with penalties or fees on a payment plan 

 
10. After MDOT approves application, the Harvest Permit is valid as of issue date 

found on letter of authorization 
a. Applicant will receive a Harvest Permit Authorization letter  

 i. Authorization Letter must be kept in vehicle at all times  
 ii. Authorization Letter is non transferable 
iii. Authorization Letter is valid for one year from issue date.
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