# PARENT-TEEN DRIVING AGREEMENT



Parents of nearly eight teens a day learn that their child has died in a car crash. In fact, car crashes are the No. 1 killer of teens in America. They cause far more teen deaths than homicide, suicide, cancer and drugs.

According to research from The Allstate Foundation, parents are the most important influence on their teen when it comes to learning to drive before and after their child gets a driver's license. That means you can make a big difference by being a good role model and a good coach.



#### Start the conversation

Talking to your teen about the rules of the road isn't necessarily easy, but it is important. That's why The Allstate Foundation created this Parent-Teen Driving Agreement. It will help you and your teen make safer decisions when he or she gets behind the wheel and when riding as a passengers with friends. Use it as a resource to:

- Discuss your teen's responsibilities when driving a car or riding as a passenger in a car driven by another teen.
- Decide on responsibilities and the consequences when those responsibilities aren't met.

Once you talk over each issue, fill out the rules and consequences in the space provided. Then sign and date the agreement and keep it in a prominent place in your home so you can re-examine it often and make changes as your teen becomes a more experienced driver.

#### Learn More

Learn about your state's teen driving laws, better understand teens' attitudes about driving or get tips for talking with your teen about safer driving. The Allstate Foundation has resources to help make a difference.

## For more information, please visit

#### www.allstatefoundation.org/teen-driving

expose teens to the driving experience and phase them into full driving privileges. GDL has been proven effective at reducing teen drivers' high crash rates by up to 40 %. Mississippi laws include:

Graduated driver licensing is a system used to gradually

- Mississippi has a 12 month minimum holding period for the learner's permit. The minimum age for a permit is 15 years. Permit holders may not drive unsupervised. Fifteen and sixteen year old permit holders who have held their permit the requisite time, may apply for a driver's license.
- There is no minimum supervised driving requirement.
- For 6 months after they receive their license or until they are 17, newly licensed drivers may not drive unsupervised between 10 pm and 6 am Sunday through Thursday or 11:30 pm and 6 am Friday and Saturday.
- No learner's permit or intermediate license holders may text while driving.

Keep in mind that state laws are minimum standards to keep your teen safer on the road. The more you get involved and monitor your teen's driving experience, the more likely your teen will be a safer driver and passenger.

http://www.dps.state.ms.us/driver-services/new-drivers-license/ types-of-licenses/

http://www.dps.state.ms.us/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/ Driver-License-Manual-Jan-2012.pdf







## Seat belts

Of teens ages 13-19 who died in car crashes in 2012, 52% of drivers and 59% of passengers were not wearing a seat belt.

AGREEMENT

CONSEQUENCES

#### Speeding

Speeding is a factor in 1 out of every 3 teen fatal crashes.

AGREEMENT

CONSEQUENCES

### **Drinking & Drugs**

Among drivers ages 16-19 killed in 2012, 23% had blood alcohol concentrations of 0.08% or higher.

AGREEMENT

CONSEQUENCES

#### Grades

Studies have shown a strong correlation between getting good grades and being safe on the road.

AGREEMENT

CONSEQUENCES

## **Cellphones & Texting**

Of fatal crashes among 15-19 year old drivers involving distractions, 21% were identified as using cellphones.

AGREEMENT

CONSEQUENCES

#### Being a Safe Passenger & Friend

In 2012, 54% of the deaths of teenage passengers occurred in vehicles driven by another teen. When riding as a passenger in a car, your teen can help the driver get to the destination safely.

AGREEMENT

CONSEQUENCES

#### **Teen Driver or Passenger**

I promise to abide by the agreement outlined above. If I break any part of this agreement, I will accept the consequences. During any time that I cannot drive, I will be responsible for making other safe arrangements to get around.

SIGNATURE OF TEEN

DATE

## **Number of Passengers**

With no adult passengers, the risk of 16- or 17-year old drivers being killed in a crash increases 44% with one passenger under the age of 21; it doubles with two young passengers, and quadruples with three or more young passengers.



AGREEMENT

CONSEQUENCES

## Music, Food & Other Distractions

Driver distractions, such as eating and changing music, were indicated for 16% of all drivers involved in fatal crashes for people under the age of 20.

AGREEMENT

CONSEQUENCES

## **Driving with Licensed Adult**

Inexperience is the leading cause of teen crashes. Parents should consider driving with their teens as much as possible and for a minimum of 30 minutes per week, even after a driver's license is earned.

AGREEMENT

Teen motor vehicle crash deaths in 2012 occurred most frequently from 9 p.m. to midnight. Check your local teen nighttime driving restrictions for guidance.



AGREEMENT

CONSEQUENCES

## Teens should speak up when they see risky driving behaviors, including:

- Having more people in the car than is allowed under the law
- Cellphone use while driving
- Drunk or impaired driving
- Any uncomfortable situation that risks safety

#### **Parent/Guardian**

I promise to be a good role model and a coach for my teen. I will do what I can to help my teen succeed in following this agreement and become a safe and responsible driver. I understand this is an evolving agreement. I commit to discussing these rules and their consequences especially as my teen becomes more experienced behind the wheel.

SIGNATURE OF PARENT/GUARDIAN

DATE



















CONSEQUENCES Time of Day